January 15, 2024

19 players from Northwestern Ontario selected to play in the Ontario Winter Games taking place February 16-26 in Thunder Bay, ON.

Ontario, Thunder Bay – Hockey Northwestern Ontario has announced the 19 players who will represent Hockey Northwestern Ontario at the 2024 Ontario Winter Games, Feb 16-26 in Thunder Bay, Ontario.

The team was selected by Northwest Explorers Coaching staff and evaluation team. The Explorers will be led by Head Coach Ed Atwill, alongside Assistant Coaches Walter Keating and Joel Willan. Rounding out the staff will be Athletic Trainer Victoria Dorion, and Equipment Manager Carson Smith.

Included in the roster are U15AA and U15AAA players from Thunder Bay, Dryden, Fort Frances and Kenora.

The Explorers will be competing for Gold against the NOHA Selects, Credit River Capitals U14AAA (OMHA), and Ottawa Myers Automotive U14AAA (HEO). Games will begin on Saturday, February 24th at the Fort William Gardens.

“We are very excited for our players to showcase our regional talent at an event as big as the Ontario Winter Games. It is even more exciting with the event being held in our own backyard” -Joe Newhouse, Hockey Northwestern Ontario Technical Director.

The schedule will be made available once finalized.

Team Roster:

 POS Player Name Current Team
G Carter Johnson Neebing Hawks
G Kainaan MacGillivray Neebing Hawks
F Alex Lemmetty Thunder Bay Beavers
F Brady Nash Thunder Bay Kings
F Cooper Disher Thunder Bay Kings
F Ethan Williamson North End Flames
F Felix Sapay Dryden Paperkings
F Jace Voortman Thunder Bay Kings
F Mason Glousher Thunder Bay Beavers
F Owen Trevisanutto Westfort Maroons
F Troy Veldhuisen Fort Frances Canadians
F Liam Maxwell Norwest Stars
D Cristian Ianni Norwest Stars
D Drake Bodnar Fort Frances Canadians
D Frankie Marino Thunder Bay Beavers
D Gavin Godick Thunder Bay Kings
D Hayden Willett Kenora Thistles
D Michael Pucci South End Rangers
D Sullivan Bowen Kenora Thistles
Head Coach Ed Atwill
Assistant Coach Walter Keating
Assistant Coach Joel Willan
Athletic Trainer Victoria Dorion
Equipment Manager Carson Smith